Library student Day in the Life: Day Five

So, this is my final post for the Hack Library student Day in the Life project, as an MA LIS student at UCL.

Friday’s are my day off, and therefore my favourite day of the week! I have to confess that as much as I moan about being poor and having lots to do, I do really love the fact that I get a three day weekend. I genuinely don’t know how I’ll go back to full time work once I graduate!

Anyway, this morning I got woken up by the doorbell at 8.30am (not happy) but decided to stay in bed until 10am anyway – there have to be some perks to being a student after all! After that, I got up, showered and got dressed and then turned on my laptop. First thing I did was (you probably guessed this if you’ve read any of my other posts this week) check my emails and social media sites (Twitter and Facebook), before opening a word document and starting on my work for the day.

Today’s work began with my dissertation proposal – it’s due next week and has to have a title, aims, justification, methodology and a bibliography. As it turns out, it’s not as complicated as I originally thought. After Tuesday’s meeting with Lucy I feel a lot more certain about my focus, which I’ve decided is the changing role of the librarian, so I managed to write the title, aims and methodology without too much stress. I then had to search the library catalogue and some databases for appropriate sources (with a few breaks for social media, naturally).

work station My somewhat messy way of working – I like to spread out!

This took me up to a late lunch, where I took advantage of being at home by having a bacon sandwich (so, so tasty). After lunch I watched TV for half an hour (you may be realising that I’m a big fan of taking breaks) and then started on another piece of course work. This time it’s a personal reflection on our groupwork for the Management module. It’s not due for another couple of weeks but I’m trying to get it done so I can start on some bigger assignments which are due in April. I finished half of it (I’ll finish the rest on Sunday – I like to give myself either Saturday or Sunday off most weekends and not do any work), spoke to a friend on the phone for a while and have now written this blog. It’s a bit early today because I’m going out tonight for a friend’s birthday so I need to get ready and then leave. Brick Lane and delicious curry, here I come!

I hope you’ve enjoyed reading my HLSDITL posts this week – please continue to visit my blog for further updates on the life of a Library student at UCL, and to get more insights into the course.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

